5 things to know about Manitoba election results

Written by admin on 16/11/2018 Categories: 老域名购买

WINNIPEG —; After 17 years, Manitobans are waking up to a new governing party.

The Progressive Conservatives won Tuesday’s election with a majority of Manitoba’s 57 seats. PC Leader Brian Pallister will become Manitoba’s 22nd Premier.

If you missed the action on election night, Global News has you covered.

Here are five things you should know:

Tory landslide


Manitoba changed governments for the first time this century, as the PCs took the win Tuesday night. The Tories swept southern and central Manitoba and picked up a number of ridings in Winnipeg. The party stole seats from NDP strongholds, such as Brandon East, Riel, Gimli and Seine River.

The party hasn’t been in government in Manitoba since Gary Filmon ruled from 1988 until 1999.

READ MORE: Manitoba Progressive Conservatives form majority government

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau also issued a statement late Tuesday congratulating Pallister and the PCs on their election win.

NDP collapse

The Tory landslide meant the fall of Greg Selinger, who resigned as the leader of Manitoba’s New Democratic Party Tuesday evening. After the election was called, Selinger made a speech to his supporters, saying he took responsibility for the NDP’s massive defeat.

The party finished with their worst showing since 1988.

READ MORE: Manitoba NDP collapse after nearly 17 years in power, Greg Selinger resigns as leader

As of 11:30 p.m. Tuesday, the party lost 24 seats.

Selinger did win his St. Boniface seat, but the NDP lost a number of cabinet ministers, including Finance Minister Greg Dewar, Health Minister Sharon Blady and Agriculture’s Ron Kostyshyn.

One of the rebel five, Andrew Swan was re-elected for the NDP in Minto, and Kevin Chief won in Point Douglas.

MLA James Allum was re-elected in Fort Garry-Riverview, defeating the Green Party Leader, James Beddome.

The Liberal’s disappointing results

The Liberals took three seats, just two more than 2011, capping a disappointing campaign for the party, which was hoping to break out of its traditional third place standing.

Former party leader Jon Gerrard was re-elected in his constituency of River Heights. Rookie, Cindy Lamoureux, daughter of Winnipeg Liberal MP Kevin Lamoreux, also won a seat in Burrows.

READ MORE: Manitoba Liberal Party ends disappointing election with just three seats

The Liberal’s Judy Klassen took the seat in the northern riding of Kewatinook, which has been NDP since 1969.

Wab Kinew takes Fort Rouge

NDP star candidate Wab Kinew has won the hotly contested riding of Fort Rouge defeating Manitoba Liberal leader Rana Bokhari. She has not held a seat in the legislature since she was elected leader in 2013.

READ MORE: Wab Kinew beats out Liberal Leader Rana Bokhari to win in Fort Rouge

Kinew also beat out against Progressive Conservative candidate Audrey Gordon and Green Party candidate Grant Sharp

Bokhari didn’t give a concession speech and spoke to media briefly after her defeat.

Greens almost take a win

It was a tight race in Wolseley Tuesday night. Although the NDP came out the victor, the Green Party of Manitoba came very close. NDP’s Rob Altemeyer won the riding by 384 votes over Green Party of Manitoba candidate David Nickarz as of Wednesday morning.

In 2011, Altemeyer won by 2,861 votes against the Green Party Leader James Beddome.

Comments Off on 5 things to know about Manitoba election results